Customer Reviews for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Container Store.

White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution

Maximize your pantry space! Our exclusive, top-rated Elfa Utility Door & Wall Rack system makes the most of often-wasted vertical space on a door or wall and is totally customizable! Available only at The Container Store, the six baskets (two each in three sizes) can be easily repositioned to fit your storage needs. It's easy to remove a basket if you need to take ingredients to another area. Build your own customized solution with our Elfa Utility Door & Wall Rack Planner . Elfa Door & Wall Rack Assembly Guide ||Exceptionally durable epoxy-bonded steel construction | Easy, no-tools assembly | Designed for a standard 7' door; residential overdoor hooks included | elfa utility Door & Wall Rack Planner
Average Rating:
4.864 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Review 1 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Space-Saver

Date:March 24, 2015
Pros: space saver
Cons: none to date
Unfortunately, I have a kitchen with a tiny pantry. I have struggled for years and stored pantry items all over the house because they would not fit in the kitchen, where they are used. This door & wall rack actually freed up two shelves so that I may now store garbage bags, paper towels, oils and vinegars, small packets, etc. It was easy to install (hollow door mount) and so nice that I could customize the baskets for the sizes that I needed. Thank you for such a wonderful solution to my problem. I am just mad that I didn't do this years ago!
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Dallas, Texas
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I prefer to call a handyman
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So convenient!

Date:January 3, 2017
Pros: easy to assemble, convenient, keeps things organized
I live in an apartment with a small pantry closet. I love to cook but there's not a lot of room for all my cooking ingredients and staples. This is a miracle! It has helped to clear up so much extra space and keeps things organized.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Nashville, TN, USA
Place of purchase:Online and shipped to me
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great System!

Date:April 1, 2015
Pros: easy to install, sturdy, don't need extra tools
I'd had my eye on this for months and finally bit the bullet last week. Now that I have it and it's installed, I honestly don't know why I hesitated. It's great! It has totally freed up space on the bottom of my linen pantry and has made looking for and using all my cleaning products so much easier. Really, if you are considering purchasing this, do it!
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:New York
Place of purchase:Online and picked up at a store location
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flexibility Of Design: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease Of Installation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic - Could not live without it!

Date:January 21, 2019
Pros: good quality, Perfect solution, holds many items!, looks professional
Cons: a misfortune if you don't have a pantry door!
Allowed me to clear 2 kitchen cabinets and use the space for other necessary kitchen items within easy reach of my stove. The Elfa Over the Door System is truly credible for organizing seasoning and spice alphabetically. I do a lot of fresh food cooking and the System lets me to have these items easily accessible, which is a must!
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Great as I hoped

Date:July 15, 2018
Pros: high quality pieces., looks good
Cons: it is noisy/ wobbly., difficult to install
Researched like crazy for best over the door pantry unit. I chose this one because of the versatility and no need to drill holes. It is also the most expensive on the market.
I liked the quality feel of the pieces. Very sturdy. I like the ease of hooking on the baskets. No need to fish around for the holes. It looks really nice.
Now what I didn't like or expect. The difficulty of installation along with unclear instructions including within their videos. I needed to know how to get that bottom bracket on. It took me 45 mins of frustration. My door is so thick, the brackets didn't slide on easily but not thick enough for the commercial one. It ended up chipping bottom of my door trying to get it on. Alas, a mallet of multiple taps did it but at this point I almost beat the crap out of it.
Finally i get to do the fun part of loading it. Lady at the store says it can handle a lot of weight so put the bigger things in the bottom. I got it packed but after shutting the door, could hear massive banging and wobbling. Because the standard is flush, the baskets are not. There is quite a gap and why I wish it used TWO standards like the shelving units. All competitors have the 2.
Now I had to decide to either take it down and return it OR find a work around. I chose to spend another $10 to buy clear bumper guards. If this didn't work it was going back. It worked so I'm hesitantly keeping it. I'm irked that for over $100 that this is so noisy. It should include the guards knowing this.
Lastly the weight is very noticeable opening/closing door. I may rearrange what I have in it.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Location:Sacramento, CA
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help Your Mom Downsize Happily

Date:June 13, 2017
Pros: sturdy, attractive
This pantry shelf can help your loved one downsize happily. It can be purchased in pieces, tailored to her needs and wants. It is sturdier than any other and EASY to install!
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Georgia
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I prefer to call a handyman
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Organize storage space saver

Date:June 6, 2017
Pros: extra storage space strudy
Cons: none
I love how this product adds extra storage space to my small pantry, makes things organized and easy to access, product is very durable and sturdy. I have the flexibility to add/remove to rearrange the baskets to fit my stuff.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Houston, TX
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!!

Date:March 21, 2017
Pros: sturdy, easy to assemble
Love this product!! We have a small closet pantry and adding this gave me more storage! I also added the smaller baskets to the side walls of the pantry!!
User Photos:
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Plano, TX, USA
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love These Shelves!

Date:January 21, 2017
Pros: good for small spaces
We used these shelves in our pantry and love them! They hold so many items and are easy to move around. Plus I like how little space they take up on the wall. My foods are organized and easy to see. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to organize their pantry or closet.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Camarillo, CA
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pantry Door and Wall Racks are Amazing!

Date:January 8, 2017
We have purchased three for our new pantry. Two over door mounted ones and one wall one. Purchasing the fourth one today since we just finished the pantry. THey hold incredible amounts and give you the visibility and convenient access (particularly if you cook) to see the contents. It is fabulous for spices, soups, vinegars and other heavy liquid items! We had them in our old house and have now had several friends order them. Very well made, very easy to install!
User Photos:
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Charleston, SC
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I prefer to call a handyman
Is this the first time you purchased this product?No
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to assemble, impossible to live without

Date:November 1, 2016
Pros: easy to assemble
I recently moved to a new place with a severe lack of storage and this over-the-door pantry has been a life saver.
A little pricey at first glance (though I got it on sale, which was my impetus) but no complaints on what it offers. It's super easy to put together, no tools necessary, and it's helped me find a home for lots of little items I was despairing over what to do with.
It fits a lot based on the baskets that come with it, but luckily there is still room left over to add more baskets, which I'll likely do - this time in mesh.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Washington, DC, USA
Place of purchase:Online and shipped to me
Skill level:I prefer to call a handyman
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pantry door platinum shelving

Date:October 1, 2016
Pros: i'm going to add 1 more shelf since i have room.
It is beautiful!! We were able to install it ourselves in minutes .
The shelving is adjustable so I spaced them according to our needs.
A great hint that was given to us was ei. All my spices are to together so if I need multiple spices for cooking/baking I can easily that that unit out and put it back . Easy as 1-2-3.
It's attractive looking as well.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Hubbard, OH 44425, USA
Place of purchase:Online and shipped to me
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for crafters

Date:September 21, 2016
I absolutely love this product. It's helped me organize my craft paints and it allows me to take a shelf with me when I'm painting and easily put it back when I'm done. The shelving and hanging mechanism are of excellent quality and materials. The door system is very easy to install. I can't wait to get additional systems for my pantry.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:Omaha, NE, USA
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great kitchen addition!

Date:September 18, 2016
We bought this to better organize our kitchen and it works wonderfully. We keep all our small items or items used most often on the rack, and because the shelves are adjustable we can keep things out of reach of our little one. Definitely planning on purchasing more of these for other rooms.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Seattle, WA, USA
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small Space

Date:September 2, 2016
Got this for the kids' bathroom which is very small. Great For holding all their products without them fighting for space
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:DE
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I prefer to call a handyman
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pantry organization

Date:May 1, 2016
Pros: easy & efficient
Cons: none yet
I bought 3 of the short door/wall racks and mounted them on my pantry wall. 2 I used for spices & condiments, etc. We had moved from a home with a wet bar to a home without and needed liquor storage. We used the large baskets next to an Elfa free standing cart in the pantry . The liquor is stored in the baskets and the Elfa cart top is the pouring bar. Works great for us.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Frisco, TX
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small pantries

Date:March 18, 2016
Pros: great for small pantries, good price for all you get
This is a easy way to add more organization space to a small pantrie especially if you live in a apartment and you can't drill in to the wallstore to hang shelves. I also like how the baskets can be adjusted to the way you need them.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Raleigh , NC
Place of purchase:At a store location
Skill level:I prefer to call a handyman
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far so good...

Date:February 15, 2016
I like this organizer. I bought it for my pantry. I had to exchange the baskets for the smaller size though. They were just a little too wide for our small door. The smaller size is perfect and I love the space its freed up in the panty. I wish I would have purchased sooner. Easy to set up too.
Location:Columbus, OH
Place of purchase:Online and picked up at a store location
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Product

Date:February 9, 2016
Pros: highly functional, easy installation
Cons: instructions a little weak
Saw this in a showroom but waited to buy it online. It arrived quickly but was unsure how it should be installed. Looking it over it was clear that no tools other than the Allen wrench (provided). This took about five minutes to install. No holes in the door. Awesome technology. The baskets attach easily and are very sturdy. This is a high quality product that provides flexibility and improves our storage capability.
User Photos:
User submitted photo
Location:Oak Island NC
Place of purchase:Online and shipped to me
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for White Elfa Utility Pantry Door & Wall Rack Solution
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

high quality--makes organization easier

Date:February 5, 2016
Pros: sturdy racks hold weight without bending, fits space nicely
Cons: none
I was very pleased with the quality of the product. Very sturdy racks with very usable size differentiation.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Location:The Villages, FL
Place of purchase:Online and shipped to me
Skill level:I'm a "do-it-yourselfer"
Is this the first time you purchased this product?Yes
Did you read product reviews online for the item purchased?Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next»